Make your own free website on

Fun Facts

Home Geography Economy Fun Facts Culture/ History Climate


  1. The capital of Japan is Tokyo
  2. The Ainu are a group of Japan's original people.
  3. Japan consists of four main islands. Hokkaido, Honshu, Kyushu, and Shikoku.                                                     
  4. Sumo wrestlers will never clean their loin cloths if they are on a winning streak.
  5. The official language of Japan is Japanese.
  6. The official name of Japan is Nippon or Nihon (source of the sun)
  7. The nation anthem of Japan is the "Kimigayo" (The reign of our Emperor
  8. The Japanese flag was adopted in 1854.
  9. The area of Japan is 145,870 square miles.
  10. The four main Islands are Hokkaido, Honshu, Kyushu, Shikoku.
  11. Highest mountain- Mont. Fuji, 12,388 ft. above sea level. The lowest- sea level
  12. The cities of Tokyo and Kyoto contain the same letters being o, o, k, t, and y.
  13. 60 out of 150 major volcanoes in Japan are active.
  14. Japanese people read right to left instead of left to right.
  15. Many lakes lie in the craters of extinct volcanoes.
  16. Most of the rivers  in Japan are used to irrigate farmlands.
  17. Although baseball is not a native sport of Japan it is equally as popular there as it is in our country.
  18. Nihon is the Japanese name for their country